indian traditional dresses

Festive Season: Colours Of Nine Nights Of Navratri


Navaratri is an annual Hindu festival observed in honor of the goddess Durga, an aspect of Adi Parashakti, the supreme goddess. It takes place twice, once in the months of Chaitra (March/April on the Gregorian calendar) and once in Ashvin (September-October). It lasts for nine nights (and ten days). In various areas of the Hindu-Indian cultural realm, it is recognized for various reasons and observed and celebrated in varied ways. Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navaratri. In reality, it is Sharada the Hindu festival of Navratri a celebration that takes place after the monsoon season.

Nine Nights Of Navratri:

Navratri is a festival associated with the prominent battle that took place between Maa Durga and Mahishasura it celebrates the victory of good over evil.

First Night Of Navratri (White Colour): 

The first day is Chaitra Navratri which is also known as Pratipada. It is associated with the form Shailaputri. On this day, devotees worship Goddess Parvati also named Shailputri. On this day of Navratri, wearing white invokes the goddess' graces. The white colour indicates purity and innocence and it symbolizes internal peace, faith, and stability. Goddess Durga is said to cleanse the minds and souls of people who are wearing white and protect them from danger.

Second Night Of Navratri (Red Colour):

The second day of Navratri which is also known as Dwitiya worships. It is associated with Goddess Brahmacharini, an incarnation of Goddess Paravati becoming Yogini. On this day, devotees wear Red Color Outfits. Red is a representation of fresh starts, fervor, love, and female power. The most common colour of Chunri used to cover the Goddess idol is red. This color fills the person with vigor and vitality. Wearing red on this auspicious day is said to bring out courage and bravery in devotees to defeat their sins and distress.

Third Night Of Navratri (Blue Colour):

On this day devotees wear Blue Colour Outfits which represent divine energy and calmness. Additionally, the colour blue symbolizes wealth, serenity, beauty, and unmatched personality. This elegant colour reflects the better things in life and indicates success and good health. 

Fourth Night Of Navratri (Yellow Colour):

On the fourth day of Navratri, participants wear Yellow Colour Outfits which represent warmth, unparalleled optimism, and positivity. During Navratri, wearing this shade represents bringing in the light and fending off the dark. The fourth day is devoted to Goddess “Kushmanda” who is known for the vegetation of the earth

Fifth Night Of Navratri (Green Colour):

The fifth day of Navratri represents prosperity, growth, and nature The Fifth day is devoted to “Skandamata” the goddess of strength and nature. On this day devotees wear Green Colour Outfits which symbolizes growth, fertility, peace, and serenity.

Sixth Night Of Navratri (Grey Colour):

The sixth day of Navratri represents prosperity, growth, and nature. The Fifth day is devoted to “Katyayani” she is an incarnation of Durga. On this day devotees wear Grey Colour Outfits which symbolizes balanced emotions and keeps the person down-to-earth. She is celebrated on Shashtami (sixth day). Eastern India celebrates Maha Shashti and the start of the shardiya Durga Puja on this day.

Seventh Night Of Navratri (Orange Colour):

Seventh day of Navratri is also known as Saptami, dedicated to Goddess Navdurga. On this day devotees wear Orange Colour Outfits which indicates a positive energy, knowledge, and warmth that you may share with others. The Seventh day is devoted to devi “Navdurga”

Eighth Night of Navratri (Peacock Green Colour):

Eighth Night of Navratri which is also known as Durga Ashtami. It is devoted to “Maa Mahagauri”. On this day devotees wear Peacock Green Colour Outfits which indicate uniqueness, individuality, and fulfillment of desires. The contrast between comfort and flair is perfectly achieved by this vibrant hue of blue.

Ninth Night Of Navratri (Pink Colour):

On the last day of Navratri, devotees pray to “Maa Siddhidatri”. Maa Siddhidatri is the ninth form of The meaning of Maa Durga's name is "the one who gives power”.  Siddhidatri is also known as Maa Parvati, the wife of Lord Shiva. Siddhidhatri is believed to be the Ardhanarishvara form of Mahadev and Shakti.

Rivesse Clothing is the best Indian Outfit Designer in USA. Rivesse is a creative, professional & specializing in the fashion industry who designs and creates traditional Indian clothing in USA. We draw inspiration from India's rich cultural heritage, such as Sherwani, Sangeet outfits, Mehndi outfits, jodhpuri suits for men, Groomsmen Outfit, wedding suits for men, & many other Indian traditional dresses. We are popular in designing Indian Outfits for traditional Indian Weddings.

Back to blog

Leave a comment